Contact Us


The Cathedral Chapter is a group of people who are responsible for directing and overseeing the administration of the Cathedral. It sets policy and is responsible for providing the vision that leads all of the Cathedral’s activities. In particular Chapter is responsible for:

  • Setting policy and direction
  • Promoting the mission of the Cathedral
  • Approving strategy
  • Monitoring performance and compliance, and reporting on both in the Annual Report
  • Setting an annual budget
  • Appointing the administrator and other senior staff and determining their remuneration

Chapter includes a mixture of clergy and non-clergy and is chaired by the Dean of Ripon.

chapter installtionOn October 11th two new members of Chapter were installed as Capitular Canons in a service during evensong. The members of chapter now are:

Dean John, Canon Paul, Canon Elizabeth, Canon Ruth, Philip Arundel, Prof Joyce Hill, Rev Canon Prof Myra Shackley, Dr Colin Harrison and Dr Phyl Johnson.